Last updated: 10/6/2022
© 1996-2022 Kaliopi Pappas

Kali on Twitter on Facebook

My Store

Emma 4

This is the cast and crew listing for the four-part 2009 BBC television miniseries. This is currently a work in progress. You may check the full IMDB listing for the production here.

Emma 4 Credits

Production Company:

BBC Drama Productions


Four parts at roughly 1 hour each.

Distributed by:


Shooting Dates:

14-18 April, 2009 in Chilham, Kent
24 and 28 April, 2009 at St. Mary's Church in Send, Surrey

Release Dates:

UK - 4 October, 2009 (BBC One); aired four consecutive sundays
US - Winter, 2010 (PBS as part of Masterpiece Classic)

Technical Information:

Cameras: Arricam Cameras, Zeiss and Angenieux Lenses
Film negative format (mm/video inches): 35 mm (Fuji Eterna Vivid 160T 8543, Eterna 500T 8573)
Cinematographic process: Super 35 (2-perf) (source format)
"Printed" format: Video (HDTV)

Directed by:

Jim O'Hanlon


Emma Woodhouse - Romola Garai
Young Emma - Lyla Barrett-Rye
Mr Knightley - Jonny Lee Miller
Mr Woodhouse - Michael Gambon
Harriet Smith - Louise Dylan
Mrs. Weston - Jodhi May
Mr. Weston - Robert Bathurst
Frank Churchill - Rupert Evans
Jane Fairfax - Laura Pyper
Miss Bates - Tamsin Greig
Mrs. Bates - Valerie Lilley
Mr. Elton - Blake Ritson
Mrs. Elton - Christina Cole
John Knightley - Dan Fredenburgh
Isabella Knightley - Poppy Miller
Robert Martin - Jefferson Hall
Mrs. Goddard - Veronica Roberts
Mrs. Cole - Liza Sadovy
Mrs. Martin - Pauline Stone
Mr. Martin's Sisters - Eileen O'Higgins and Sarah Ovens
Mrs. Churchill - Susie Trayling
Mr. Dixon - Frank Doody
Mrs. Dixon - Amy Loughton

Written by:

Sandy Welch

Produced by:

Phillippa Giles (executive producer)
George Ormond (producer)

Music: Samuel Sim

Cinematography: Adam Suschitzky

Film Editing: Mark Thornton

Gemma Hancock
Sam Stevenson

Production Design: Stevie Herbert

Art Department:

Pilar Foy (director)
Heather Gordon (assistant)
Catriona McKail (stand-by art director)

Costume Design: Rosalind Ebbutt


Tina Brown (makeup artist)
Anne Oldham (makeup designer)

Assistant Directors:

Martin Curry (first assistant director)
Tom Rye (second assistant director)

Sound Department:

Fraser Barber (sound mixer)
Ben Norrington (dialogue editor)

Special Effects: Jonathan Wilson (trainee)

Stunt Coordinator: Dean Forster

Cameras: Mary Kyte (first assistant camera)

Costume Supervisor: Amanda Keable

Assistant Editor: Jo Smyth

Conductor/Orchestrator: Alastair King

Other crew:

Lee Francis (crowd runner; dailies)
Paul Harris (choreographer)
Darin McLeod (assistant location manager)
Tania Neumann (production coordinator)
Kevin Proctor (production secretary)
Rebecca Maybury (assistant production accountant)
Denis Wray (production accountant)